Travels in Thailand

So after much deliberation, I decided to go to Thailand.  I had been scared to leave Mike, but have been running on empty for so long that it seemed most sensible for my mental health to take a break and recharge…  So I decided to tag along on my parents’ trip with only two days notice.  Their friends own a beach resort so I figured that was good enough incentive.  Luckily I have managed to video chat with Mike at least once a day.  It’s a bit sad being in the same places, only without him, since it was just under a year ago we were last here.  A lot has changed since then.

I’ve also taken him with me as you will see below.  I imagine I look like a crazy person with an imaginary friend, but at least he’s here with me in spirit.  And it’s a little bit hilarious.  To us anyway…

I went to a shopping centre, which had a zoo inside.  It had alpacas, goats, kangaroos, snakes, iguanas, turtles, owls, miniature monkeys and like hundreds of puppies and other pet shop animals.

PUPPY!!  (He's not impressed with Mike.  One of the ugly yappy dogs tried to bite him)

PUPPY!! (He’s not impressed with Mike. One of the ugly yappy dogs tried to bite him)

Hee hee

Hee hee

I had to spend over $30 in the shopping centre to get my photo taken with this owl and turned into a fridge magnet

I had to spend over $30 in the shopping centre to get my photo taken with this owl and turned into a fridge magnet

Goats wearing hats.  Nuff said.

Goats wearing hats. Nuff said.

Jub jub!!

Jub jub!!  I’m talking about the dude from The Simpsons, but funnily enough it means kiss in Thai.  They told me to pose in that fruity fashion by the way, cos it’s easier for him to latch on.

Basket of puppies anyone?

Basket of puppies anyone?

The resort was a couple hours south of Bangkok.  Took us 5 hours on the way there cos we went in peak traffic.  We went and released some turtles as part of a royal eco project.  Was kinda cool, even though I thought it would be sea turtles on a beach, not a forest in the middle of nowhere.  I’m pretty sure I got filmed falling into the mud.  Hope that didn’t make it onto tv.

These dogs were really cool.  One went on ahead, while the other stayed with me, taking me down the beach.  Then if I stopped to take a photo, it would stop too.  Once I started walking again, then it would too.  Just like my pups at home.  One is clingy, the other does his own thing

These dogs were really cool. One went on ahead, while the other stayed with me, taking me down the beach. Then if I stopped to take a photo, it would stop too. Once I started walking again, then it would too. Just like my pups at home. One is clingy, the other does his own thing.  Then when I turned to go back, they did too.

SAM_3953

Waiting for the press briefing thing..

(Mike hates seafood mwuahaha)

(Mike hates seafood mwuahaha)

We got to choose our own turtle.

We got to choose our own turtle.

My room overlooking the beach.  Would have helped if I opened the curtains...  I had a really cool bathroom, that had old school tiny doors to the bathroom, then another passage way into the shower with a moat.  felt like I was in a castle.

My room overlooking the beach. Would have helped if I opened the curtains… I had a really cool bathroom, that had old school tiny doors to the bathroom, then another passage way into the shower with a moat. Felt like I was in a castle.

Back at the shopping centre attached to the hotel in Bangkok.

His favourite juice bar.  i used to have to run back and forth here, buying 3 at a time to take back to the hotel cos it was teh only thing he could eat at one point.

His favourite juice bar. I used to have to run back and forth here, buying 3 at a time to take back to the hotel cos it was the only thing he could eat at one point.

He fought Mike and lost... He lost his nose and part of his mouth.

He fought Mike and lost… He lost his nose and part of his mouth.

Silly Mike, what are you doing in there?!

Silly Mike, what are you doing in there?!

3 thoughts on “Travels in Thailand

  1. Hey you guys, glad you are having/had a swell time in Thailand (hehe).Missing you both and hope we can catch up soon. Talking of spur o the momento – I accidentally bought 2 tickets to sydney! Denae and I are staying with lynsey at the moment and will be here for Denae’s birthday on the 11th. love you both, feliss xx

Leave a Reply

