Zoo-la-roo

 

Today is me and Mike’s first wedding anniversary.  I should still be sleeping right now but I feel like a kid at Christmas…  Though I get more excited over giving presents than receiving them.  Me and Mike are terrible at keeping secrets and I feel like I’m gonna burst from keeping his presents a secret for so long, even though I have been dropping odd hints all week.  I have been holed up in my studio for about a week now, only stopping to eat when I remember or going out for more supplies.  It was to the point where I had to calculate how long I would be away from my studio for, and see if it was worth making the trip, or if I could make do with what I had.  Felt like I was in uni again.  Anyway, I will post photos after, since I have to keep quiet for at least a few more hours.

I have been watching the weather like a hawk because we are planning to go to the zoo today.  Last time he wasn’t up to the zoo on our 7th anniversary, so I brought the zoo to him.  I made ‘exhibits’ up in each room of the house, complete with signage and info sheets.  I did a treasure hunt, where he had to search for clues by answering questions about the animals.  I made a ‘plant of the week’ like in the Perth Zoo, and hid ‘fun facts’ around the place.

 

 

Petting Zoo

 

Australian Bushwalk

Australian Bushwalk

 

African Savannah

African Savannah

 

Primates

Primates

 

Australian Wetlands

Australian Wetlands

 

Asian Rainforest

Asian Rainforest

 

 

It was looking too hot for the zoo, so we have been trying to come up with alternative plans, because Mike doesn’t do well in the heat.  Now it’s set to rain, so I don’t know how that will go either.  It gets harder to think about creative alternatives, especially if I’m mentally exhausted already.  It gets harder to outdo myself also!  On Valentine’s day I blew up a bunch of balloons and made a balloon wall.  We wrote little notes saying what we loved about each other and I hid them in random balloons.  Then I made up a quiz with questions about us, and for each one we got right, we got to stab the balloons with a scalpel to find our messages…  All whilst listening to the worst 80s love songs known to mankind, but were so terrible you had to laugh.  I thought it would be therapeutic to get to pop a bunch of balloons and get our frustrations out on everything that had been going on with us and his MND, but in a fun way.

 

 

SAM_2282

Balloon Wall

 

 

I’m pretty cheesy when I want to be, but each thing we celebrate, you never know if it will be the last one, so I like to make it count.  I’m always torn between just settling for something achievable so there’s no stress, or making the effort to go all out to create a memory.  It’s what is important in the end when it’s all over, but at the same time, just being together for those moments is invaluable in itself.

Anyway, I’m off to get ready and go give Mike his gifts :)  More updates to follow!

5 thoughts on “Zoo-la-roo

  1. How cool and wonderful and fluffy and lovely – you are so bloody inventive!
    I can’t wait to hear about what you two did (photos please if poss), and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    happy happy happy anniversary to lovely Claire and Mike from feliss and denae xxxxxxxxx

  2. I can’t believe you still have some of those stuffed animals from our childhood! Aren’t they ever faithful? Cinnamon, the sheep, the buffalo, and the rhino…was Ralph his name? Hope you and Mike have the best anniversary ever. You’re such a thoughtful, creative gift giver too!

    • Thanks! It was George, Ralph was the hippo hehe. Remember dad made me cry because he put sticky tape on Cinnamon? I also remember going off to sulk when he hid him on top of that big ugly bird cage/aviary we used to have.

  3. Pingback: Workplace in Wonderland | Skeletons in the Light

Leave a Reply

